Don’t Buy a Limousine

A three-day train ride is a bit like hitchhiking – you have no control. We would sit there hypothesising how much longer we’d be stuck in Portage-la-Prairie and consuming a nauseating amount of caramelised almonds, and in the end, miraculously, still got to Vancouver in time.

24 hours into the trip, after stepping out in -41°C for the first time in my life (together with all the people who’ll go where they’re allowed to smoke no matter what the conditions), I was told that we’re still in Ontario. A traveling Londoner later commented that “it feels like cheating, really – a new province every day now; we’re just racing through”.

train5
Freight train, freight train, going so fast…
train6
The Rockies with the reflection of my yellow water bottle in the lower left corner
train7
University of British Colombia – Anthropology Museum
train8.jpg
The view from nudist Wreck Beach – I’m ashamed to admit that I kept my clothes on

It was a good trip, anyway. An old Canadian horticulturalist bought me hot chocolate, gave me a grapefruit (“Are you sure? It’s a very nice grapefruit.”), and chatted to me about pesticides and pathogens. We also passed Chilliwack, which supposedly is where all the drugs destined for the States travel through, so I got cocaine stuck in my head (the song, not the substance).

It’s always a little scary to set off on your own, until you realise that you never actually travel alone. I hitched a ride to get off a mountain once I made it to the west, and because the driver didn’t speak English I chatted to his most endearing 12-year old son Leo.

Leo:     I’m not a very good geographer; I like history and maths.
I:          Do you think you’d like to do history after you’re done with school?
Leo:     I don’t think I want to be an archaeologist… But hey, you never know! Maybe one day you’ll see me digging for bones somewhere.
I:          I’ll wave.
Leo:     Do you know Oprah Winfrey?
I:          I’ve heard of her, yes.
Leo:     One of her most famous lines is ‘When you own a limousine, everyone will want to ride with you, but when your limousine breaks down, who will ride the bus with you?’
I:          So that friend you were telling me about would be the kind of guy who’ll take the bus with you when your limousine breaks down?
Leo:     Unfortunately I don’t have a limousine.
I:          Well then it can’t break down either.
Leo:     That’s true; I haven’t looked at it that way!! If you don’t have a limousine it can’t break down!!

 

Leave a Reply

